Accreditation and Recognition

Higher Learning Commission Mark of AffiliationOhio Christian University is

  • Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
  • Accredited by the Association for Biblical Higher Education.
  • Accredited by Teacher Education Accreditation Council.
  • Authorized by the Ohio Board of Regents to offer associate, baccalaureate, and masters level education.
  • Authorized by the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission to offer associate, baccalaureate, and masters level education.
  • Approved by the United States Office of Education for participation in the federal student financial aid programs.
  • Approved by the Ohio Board of Regents to offer teacher education programs
  • Approved by the Internal Revenue Service for Social Security benefits for eligible students.
  • Approved to train Veterans or eligible persons.
  • Recognized by the Churches of Christ in Christian Union, Primitive Methodist Church, Evangelical Church and Evangelical Methodist Church, for ministerial training.
  • A member of the Evangelical Training Association.
  • Authorized under Federal law to enroll nonimmigrant students.

Public Comment on Ohio Christian University

Ohio Christian University is seeking comments from the public about the university in preparation for its periodic evaluation by its regional accrediting agency. The University will host a visit Sept. 21-23, 2015, with a team representing the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association. Ohio Christian University has been accredited by the Commission since 2005. The team will review the institution’s ongoing ability to meet the Commission’s Criteria for Accreditation.

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the university:

Public Comment on Ohio Christian University
The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604-1411

The public may also submit comments on the Commission’s Web site at

Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution or its academic programs. Comments must be in writing.

All comments must be received by August 23, 2015