Follow Christ, Lead the Way

EATON, OH – Friday, April 23rd, Ohio Christian University competed at the River States Conference Championships at the Eaton community schools outdoor track. The meet was hosted by Indiana University-East. The University of Rio Grande won the men's title while Point Park took the women's crown.

The Trailblazers men's team placed sixth with 50 points while the women's team placed eighth with 53 points. Eleven schools took part in the competition. The top three placements in all events and relays earned All-River States Conference honors. The top eight finishers in each event earned points for their teams.

Morgan Maffett (SO/Pickerington, OH) won the shot-put with a personal best throw of 11.81 meters. Maffett claimed third place in the hammer throw (41.41 meters) and also scored in the discus placing fifth with another personal best of (32.18 meters).

Acacia May (SO/Valley View, OH) finished as the runner-up in the pole vault, with a jump of 2.90 meters. This broke her own previous school record. May also earned a third-place finish in the 400-meter dash with a new p.r. of 1:02.34.

Gracie Lanier (SO/Scott Depot, WV) placed fourth in the 200-meter dash (28.20) and sixth in the 100-meter dash (13.62).

Imani Donovan (JR/North Olmsted, OH) placed fifth in the Hammer throw with a toss of 34.53 meters.

Brittany Lenz (JR/Springfield, OH) placed sixth in the 1,500-meter run (5:19.22) and 8th in the 5,000-meters (20:32.0)

The women's 4x100-meter relay placed seventh in a time of 59. 03 seconds. The team consisted of Monica Caldwell, Rachel Lomaka (JR/Pataskala, OH), California Headlee (SO/Grove City, OH), and Lanier.

Their 4x800-meter relay placed eighth in a time of 12:32.53. The quartet of M. Caldwell, Lomaka, Headlee, and Lenz rounded out the women's scorers.

The men were led by a pair of runner-up finishes. Chester Mientkiewicz (JR/Kinsman, OH) placed second in the 3,000-meter steeplechase in a new personal and school record of 10 minutes and 12.89 seconds. Mientkiewicz also placed fifth in the 5,000-meter run with a personal best time of 16 minutes and 21.06 seconds.

Elijah Newland (FR/Marysville, OH) tied for second in the pole vault while matching his own school record of 3.05 meters.

Corry Mientkiewicz placed fourth in the 5,000-meter run in a new personal best of 16:19.41. He also placed sixth in the 10,000-meters (35:13.37)

The 4x100-meter relay team placed fourth in a time of 45.83 seconds. The quartet consisted of Evan Caldwell, Noah Booze (SO/Urbana, OH), Nathan Rose (SR/Hilliard, OH), and Derek Donner (SO/Lebanon, OH). The same runners also teamed up to place sixth in the 4x400-meter relay in a season-best time of 3:38.94.

The 4x800-meter relay team placed fifth in a time of 8 minutes and 32.33 seconds. The members included Booze, E. Caldwell, Donner, and Chester Mientkiewicz.

Donner scored in the 400-meter hurdles, placing fifth with a new personal best time of 1:01.34. He also placed seventh in the 110-meter hurdles in a time of 18.56 seconds.

E. Caldwell placed sixth in the 800-meter run in a time of 2:04.57. This was a new personal best.

Andrew Smith finished his collegiate career with an eighth-place finish in the 400-meter hurdles in a new personal best time of 1:02.31.

River Collins (JR/Akron, OH) rounded out the men's scorers with an eighth-place finish in the hammer throw, with a new personal best toss of 34.20 meters.

Nathan Rose and Gracie Lanier earned spots on the RSC Champions of Character teams. These individuals were honored due to their actions, which consist of the NAIA's core values of respect, responsibility, integrity, servant leadership, and sportsmanship.